Dance with my father again – Sunday 21st June 2015

I was very fortunate to have a father whilst I was growing up and very much until I was in my late 30’s. I still feel that I was robbed far too early as a father cannot be replaced. I felt I had a lot to learn and needed him even today to be guided, to be appreciated and to be his princess.

dad dad2

Like I said I was fortunate, but my children were not so. They will never know the bond between a son and his father, or a bond between a daughter and her father. All they will know is that feeling of abandonment by their father.

A father’s role in his children’s life is not limited to providing them with material comforts; rather it certainly extends to providing for their spiritual and moral welfare/upbringing. No matter what creed or background the role of a father is universal, responsibility is universal, to be loved is universal.

The care for your child is meant to be shared regardless of circumstances, whether you come from a single parent family, a two parent family, a broken family or from a sad/happy family a father’s role should remain the same.

So why is it that some fathers are irresponsible and are allowed to walk free from such a responsibility? Leaving the mother and the children uncared for, unloved and abandoned.

I can only ask for forgiveness on his behalf and hope that whatever I have done for my children I have done to make them what their father is not.

To me my father is a happy memory but to my children their father is a distant fading memory.

Family

The chapter ‘Father’ does not exist in my children’s lives sadly the way it should do but they do have someone who is not only a father to them but is more than a man their father is.

 The absent father once email his daughter out of the blue and said ‘I am disappointed in you’ to this she replied ‘Who are you to be disappointed in me, more like I am disappointed with you!’ since then she has not heard from him. I guess the truth hurts!

From the holy books 

‘Fathers, do not exasperate your children; instead, bring them up in the training and instruction of the Lord. (NIV)’

 A man came to complain to `Umar about his son’s misbehavior toward him. Upon inquiring into the causes, `Umar found out that as a father, the man had never taught his son any religious or moral values: `Umar said, “Go, you have no right to complain about your son’s misbehavior!” `Umar meant to say that, since as a father the man had failed in his duties toward his son, he cannot expect anything better from him. Let us, therefore, take parenting seriously and ensure that we leave Good-conscious children who care for their parents and others, amen!

 Below is my tribute to my father.

 https://youtu.be/MaUBtCgXSAk?list=PL8D7B902F79354D9D

  1. Released: 2003

Ms Safirah Irani

Twitter@Safirah63

 

Leave a Reply

