Cinderella (2015) – Midnight is just the beginning

Cinderella 2015 Poster
Cinderella 2015 Poster

When her father unexpectedly passes away, young Ella finds herself at the mercy of her cruel stepmother and her daughters. Never one to give up hope, Ella’s fortunes begin to change after meeting a dashing stranger

Director: Kenneth Branagh

Stars: Lily JamesCate BlanchettRichard Madden

Schools out for the Easter break and my first stop is to the cinema to watch Cinderella. Odd choice you may think but once in a while it’s nice to drift away into a fantasy.
The first and foremost reason for this choice of film was the fact that our very own singer songwriter Sonna Rele  performs the soundtrack ‘Strong’ for Cinderella. With the ‘6 degrees separation’ theory it is only fair that I show my support to Sonna Rele and to all the people between me and her.
So, with Tedroe n Monkee, my cine buddy and popcorn in hand we settled down excitedly to be swept of our feet and paws!
Rated as PG I was quiet taken aback by the warning before the movie started ‘ Very mild scenes of emotional upset!’
At first I chuckled about it but as I watched the movie I understood the importance of the warning,as the audience varied from 5 year old to 70 year old.
The majority of the audience was of my age range with very few minors – I was surprised after all it was Cinderella.
This classical fairy tale which we are all familiar with has been told and retold many a times, but this time it has been bought us on the big screen and has been told in the most compassionate way.
Cinderella has not been adapted to 2015 by watching our P’s and Q’s. But it has taken on issues such as bullying and child neglect  to show that there is good out there. That good will overcome evil if one is courageous and brave.
Cinderella (Lily James) was a breath of fresh air on the big screen. Like they say ‘if the shoe fits, wear it’ and Lily James sure did.
It was also great to see the role of the  wicked step mother played by Cate Blanchett as I was getting tired of the likes of Meryl Streep and Angelina Jolie hogging every other movie.Sophie McShera as Drizella and Holliday Grainger as Anastasia played the roles of the hilarious step sisters and not as wicked as their mother.
As for Prince Charming (Richard Madden) cute as pie!
it was pleasant to sit back and watch the movie that was simply a fairy tale. I did not need to view with a cynic concept. I embraced it for what it was and enjoyed every moment of it.
I think I maybe watching  a lot more from the children’s cinema as I think there’s more to learn from them than we acknowledge or appreciate.
 
Ms Safirah Irani
Twitter@Safirah63
*** Strong
Written by Patrick Doyle, Kenneth Branagh and Tommy Danvers
Produced by Tommy Danvers (as TommyD)
Performed by Sonna Rele
Courtesy of Compound Entertainment/Motown Records
Leave a Reply

