A Friend In Need Is A Friend Indeed…

‘If you could have wings you would be an angel’ is all I heard from a friend that I had not seen for many years but we had always kept in touch via social media, email and text. Specially when the Arse plays his favourite team Tottenham Hotspurs.

I received a text yesterday around midday – a text that was a cry of help – you only had read it between the lines. Shortly followed by a call. I asked TB to call me back at 4:30 when I finish work.
Not to go into too much personal detail but you know when you say to friends ‘I’m here for you’ or ‘anytime’ well that was put to the test yesterday. Not thinking too much of anything I responded to the call like a true ‘First Aider’ and was pleasantly pleased with myself.

The journey started at 4:47pm from ironically White Hart Lane and I ended up on the other side of the world , somewhere in Sydenham , dealt with the issues and drove back to White Hart Lane – dying for a pee did a pit stop at Aylward approximately at 8:07pm.

During that time TB & me caught up with life and chatted like we have never been apart. It sadden me to meet TB in a very unusual situation but I was honoured that he turned to me. I know it was painful for him to ask for help from a Goonerette but in the end we have to look out for each other as we share the same turf!

Even tho TB was in a desperate situation he, bantered as usual and all I can remember thinking is WTF am I doing driving to South London in peak time when I struggle to drive generally? My Stormtrooper did me proud!

A very unusual Monday evening for me indeed, but for TB his journey has just began. well TB ‘I am here’ but can you please give me some warning before you take me to the other side of the world!

In fact next time The Arse n Spurs are playing we will go down the pub, banter as usual and watch some Arse being kicked!
I hope TB you are well this morning , safe and warm. Stay blessed🙏🏾❤️

A friend is one that knows you as you are, understands where you have been, accepts what you have become, and still, gently allows you to grow. – William Shakespeare

Ms Safirah Irani

Safirah63@Twitter

 

Leave a Reply

